Entrepreneurial Journal Week #1

I took this class as a prerequisite to a required class I need to complete my degree. I wondered if it would be relevant to my life. Although I have occasionally contemplated starting my own sewing and alterations shop, it hasn’t been a top priority in my life. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that this class is really about the startup of me. While my own business may someday transpire, and I do look forward to learning how to make that happen, I am more excited to learn about transforming me. I recently became an “empty nester” and suddenly realized I don’t quite know what to do with myself now that my children are all grown. I had begun giving it some thought yet wasn’t certain just how to decide what to do with the rest of my life. I am glad that this course encourages us to find our entrepreneurial “calling” then clarifies that a calling “helps you decide what to do with your life and who you want to become.”

As I read the articles and watched the introductory videos, I realized that this is what I’ve been looking for; this course can provide me with the tools I need to determine my life’s trajectory from this point. Each article offers something I need in my life. I loved that Elder Bednar teaches us that a “disciplined and educated mind” develops “essential skills for a spiritual, happy, and productive life.” His discourse on the importance of sacrifice and consecration confirmed that my work towards a college education and degree will allow me to become what the Lord wants me to be and will give me opportunities to bless the lives of others along the way. He has inspired me to work hard and appreciate the prospects that are mine. I was heartened by the encouragement from the Course Introduction to etch constructive habits deeply into my character. I have seen the benefits of that instruction in my own life and realize there are several good habits I need to acquire. I love the BYU-I Learning Model for its marriage of righteous standards, high ideals, and devotion to learning and teaching. I am glad that it develops the whole person, not merely the mind. I appreciated Jeff Sandefer’s challenge to dream big and dare greatly. It’s something that I had lost sight of in the busy-ness of being a wife and mother. It has been a much-needed reminder to me that I can have my own dreams and goals. It made me happy to realize that I am already following Reid Hoffman’s and Ben Casnocha’s advice to invest in myself, as I have made earning a college degree a priority. The people at ACTON Foundation have inspired me to live life with intent, so I don’t flounder. Living with intent will require me to craft choices with purpose, precision, and determination. I am eager to acquire the knowledge I need to make this happen.

This entry was posted in Entrepreneurial Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment